Taylor Elected to Southern Georgia Workforce Development Board

Large image

The Douglas-Coffee County, Georgia Chamber of Commerce is the heart of our community and is known for percolating progress! We offer information and services to all our members and constituents, and welcome those who wish to establish their businesses, homes, and families in this exceptional area!

Stay on top of the latest developments in Douglas-Coffee County. Bookmark this page and return often for the latest press releases, newsletters and more.


August 18, 2017
Taylor Elected to Southern Georgia Workforce Development Board
May 2107 - The Southern Georgia Executive Committee of Local Chief Elected Officials recently selected Andrea Taylor, President of the Douglas-Coffee County Chamber of Commerce and Economic Development Authority, to serve as a member of the Southern Georgia Workforce Development Board (WDB) for Workforce Development Area 18/Region 11.

The Southern Georgia area includes the counties of Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Clinch, Charlton, Coffee, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Pierce, Tift, Turner and Ware.

The WDB has approximately 30 members, with a majority of membership representing private business, as specified in the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. The remainder of the membership consists of representatives from Education & Training, Workforce representatives (Apprenticeships, Union, etc.), and Government and Economic Development organizations.

The board has multiple responsibilities, including developing a local plan, certifying local one-stop operators, identifying training providers, selecting youth service providers and negotiating local program performance criteria.